GBHS 2nd XV set stage for resurgent firsts in 33-12 win against visitors

GBHS 2nd XV scorers Blindside flanker Ash Grant, loosehead prop Sione Halafihi, reserve halfback Benito Barry and first-five Amani Karauria-Lunt were the tryscorers for Boys’ High. Fullback Devilla Pirihi-Coutts (three conversions) and Karauria-Lunt (conversion) kicked goals. Gisborne Boys’ High School’s second 15 gave their flagship team a class act to follow

Gisborne unlucky to lose close match

That was tough. Gisborne Boys’ High School’s match-effort here on Saturday was courageous. They did all but win a fast-paced, high-energy clash with Kelston Boys’ High, who took the laurels 29-23. “We’re disappointed to lose because while we lacked intensity and rhythm on attack in the first half, we fought back,” Gisborne

Waikohu stand firm

  Repeated Ngatapa attacks repelled. Courage, class and speed — that was Waikohu in their 34-10 win against Ngatapa in a premier rugby match at Patutahi on Saturday. And those qualities applied to no one more than second five-eighth and stand-in captain Ethine Reeves. He had to settle for two points, one behind

Club Report – Rd 2 : Ngatapa thump champions

Gisborne Herald CAMPBELL Chrisp followed up his Tiny White Medal-winning performance in the opening game of Gisborne’s premier club rugby competition with another man-of-the-match display on Saturday. His fired-up Ngatapa side demolished High School Old Boys 44-3 in Round 2 at the Oval. The loosehead prop scored three tries, his first hat-trick in

Sights set on NZ Sevens

GISBORNE Girls’ High School student Azalleyah Maaka is not sure what she wants to do after leaving school. For now, she is just “going with the flow” . . . but the 17-year-old knows what she wants when it comes to sport. “Nothing beats putting on a black jersey with the

Ref Appointments for Sat 7 April 2018

Appointments for Saturday 7 April 2018 PREMIER 2.45 PM Oval No 2 HSOB vs Ngatapa Referee: Damien Macpherson AR1: David Stevenson AR2: Ollie Holst 2.45 PM Oval No 1 OBM vs Tapuae Referee: Les Thomas AR1: Aaron Brown AR2: Adam Tapsell 2.45 PM Rugby Park YMP vs Athletic Referee: Jake Robertson AR1: Matt Smith AR2: Ray Young SENIOR ONES (ALL GAMES