previous arrow
next arrow

Formed in 1890 the Poverty Bay Rugby Football Union governs rugby union within the Gisborne region surrounding Poverty Bay.

There are seven rugby clubs within the region. Poverty Bay has a proud and rich history – with 17 All Blacks coming from our region, plus many more current and past Super Rugby players.


“To create an environment that increases participation, aspires all towards excellence and maintains the proud history of Poverty Bay in the game of rugby”


“To promote education, health and wellbeing in the community through the sport of Rugby Union”

PBRFU’s 130th AGM

A number of appointments were the highlight of Poverty Bay Rugby Football Union’s 130th Annual General Meeting for the 2019 season at Rugby Park’s Referees’

Read More »

Featured Video - WFRTV - Rugbyheartland

Thank you to our generous sponsors

Close Menu