You are currently viewing Ranfurly Shield Challenge #3 – 11 August 1923 – Match Report

Ranfurly Shield Challenge #3 – 11 August 1923 – Match Report

Ranfurly Shield Match # 63  – 11th August 1923
Hawkes Bay 15 – 00 Poverty Bay
Venue: Nelson Park, Hastings 
Referee: Mr E. Freeman (Wairarapa)

Next challenger was Poverty Bay, at Nelson Park, Hastings. The ground was sodden after two days of heavy rain and light rain fell during the match. The result was an easy win for the shield-holders by 15 points to nil, tries by Kivell, Nepia, Mapu, Mill and Cyril Brownlie, none being converted.

Hawke’s Bay: G. Yates; B. A. Grenside, N. L. Kivell, W. Mapu; L. Paewai, H. G. Nepia; J. J. Mill; U. Batchelort; S. W. Gemmell, J. Walker, C. J. Brownlie, J. A. McNab, T. Daley, W. R. Irvine, A. Kirkpatrick (capt).

Poverty Bay: A. J. Wood; R. Whaitiri, W. Wilson, W. Tait; P. Tureia (capt.), J. Mardon; Pik Smith; J. H. Scottt; L. Honey, E. Torrie, A. Matthews, G. H. Scott, L. G. Rice, E. McGerty, L. Hansen.

Early in the game J. Russell replaced J. H. Scott, and later J. Grant replaced Whaitiri.

The referee was Mr E. Freeman of Wairarapa.

Five of the Hawke’s Bay players had represented North Island a week earlier—M. J. Brownlie, S. W. Gemmell, W. R. Irvine, J. J. Mill and Grenside.

Tureia had captained this season’s New Zealand Maori team to Australia.

Other members of the team were J. C. McGregor, W. P. Barclay, L. Paewai, J. J. Mill, S. W. Gemmell and I. Walker of the Bay.

Extracted from
“Ranfurly Shield Rugby”
first published 1960
Publishers: A.H.Reed & A.W.Reed
by Arthur H.Carmen