You are currently viewing Ranfurly Shield Challenge #7 –  27th August 1960 – Match Report

Ranfurly Shield Challenge #7 – 27th August 1960 – Match Report


Ranfurly Shield Match #256 – 27th August 1960
North Auckland 24 – 03 Poverty Bay
Venue: Rugby Park, Whangarei Attendance: 9,000
Referee: Mr James Logan (Wellington)

1960 The Ranfurly Shield went on a number of road trips.

Auckland resisted Ranfurly Shield challenges from Thames Valley and Counties before losing the trophy to North Auckland. In this time North Auckland got to defend the Log’o’Wood the once, against Poverty Bay recording a 24-03 winning defence. 

However, Auckland regained the shield 11 days later and retained it for the rest of the season.

For North Auckland: Ned Erceg (2) and A. J. M. Benne tries: Muru Walters, 3 penalty goals and 3 conversior

For Poverty Bay: I. J. Hata. penalty goal.

Referee: Mr James Logan (Wellington).

Poverty Bay Team:

J.J.Hata (Ngatapa)
B.P.A.Johnson (Gisborne M.B.O.B.)
M.Williams (Gisborne High School O.B.)
J.L.Collins (Gisborne Marist Bros.O.B.)
T.F.D. Mackey (Gisborne M.B.O.B.)
W.D.Roberts (Gisborne High School O.B.)
C.G.Henderson (Gisborne H.S.O.B.)
D.B.Green (Gisborne High School O.B.)
Douglas Fee (Gisborne Marist Bros. O.B.)
Hendrik Nyenhuis (Gisborne Old Boys)
W.R.Atkins (Waipaoa)
A.G.E.Rowlands (Gisborne M.B.O.B.)
D.W.Green (Gisborne High School O.B.)
Brian McCarthy (Gisborne Maori Club)
F.E.Atkins (Gisborne Marist Bros. O.B.)
Thos.Kerekere (Gisborne Maori Club)