You are currently viewing Team named for Whanganui clash

Team named for Whanganui clash

  • Post category:Latest News

The CPS Poverty Bay Weka team has been named for the opening round of the 2021 Bunnings Heartland Championship.

The team travels to Cooks Gardens in Whanganui on Friday.

The team includes four players who will earn their first first-class cap for Poverty Bay. These are James Higgins, Karl Mackie, George Whakatope and Penikolo Latu. Only Penikolo Latu is yet to play a game for Poverty Bay but he is familiar with the red jersey representing Tonga – his most recent appearance against the All Blacks only a couple of months ago.

Penikolo Latu is a player of origin, growing up in Gisborne and representing the Gisborne Boys High School 1st XV.

Andrew Tauatevalu is playing his Blazer Game, running out for his 30th first-class cap for Poverty Bay.

  1. Toru Noanoa
  2. Shayde Skudder
  3. James Higgins
  4. Dan Law
  5. Fletcher Scammell
  6. Tamanui Hill
  7. Keanu Taumata
  8. Morgan Reedy
  9. Karl Mackie
  10. Kelvin Smith
  11. Te Peehi Fairlie
  12. Jacob Leaf
  13. Tione Hubbard
  14. Aaron McLelland
  15. Andrew Tauatevalu
  16. Rikki Terekia
  17. Jarryd Broughton
  18. Atonio Walker-Leawere
  19. George Whakatope
  20. Jake Holmes
  21. Taine Aupouri
  22. Penikolo Latu