PBRFU Season – 2007

PBRFU Season – 2007

Back to Year by Year Index click here



2007 Status:
Founded 1890 – Affiliated 1893
Assistant Coach
Main ground:
Rugby Park, Gisborne
Scarlet – White

With the large number of the 2006 Lochore Cup winning squad again available it could have been expected that Poverty Bay would break into the top half of the Heartland competition playing for the Meads Cup. Against Wanganui the team held a good halftime lead but could not hold out a strong second half effort by Wanganui. The loss to Buller at home proved costly and again Poverty Bay was consigned to the bottom half to fight for the Lochore Cup. Following wins at home over Horowhenua Kapiti and Thames Valley, Poverty Bay visited Greymouth and trailed 21-5 at halftime but sparked into life to pull away and win 36-21 .The season’s best performance was the semi-final against Thames Valley 65-3 with captain and master tactician Scott Leighton scoring a record 35 points.

In the final South Canterbury looked to be in command with its 32-16 halftime lead but Poverty Bay fought back and, when awarded a penalty try in the 70th minute, took the lead. Five minutes later South Canterbury reclaimed the lead with a penalty then Leighton missed with a penalty attempt which would have won the match. In desperation Poverty Bay, managing to retain possession, tried valiantly to breach the defence but it seemed a lost cause as the full time hooter sounded. For a further three minutes the Bay held the ball, halfback Daniel Morath made a break, passed to Ian Logan who fed a storming Piripi Douglas and the flanker ran round behind the posts to snatch the win and Lochore Cup for a second year.

While Leighton was the backline general Ian Logan was a sound partner at second five-eighth. Fullback Kahu Tamatea and wing Tim Gardner ran in some good tries. The forward pack contained experienced props in Jamie Hutana, Colin Hovell and Josh Maynard. Aaron Wise and Andrew Cribb shared the hooking duties. Chris Bell, Murray Hewson and Willie Halgarth were the locks. Sione Ngatu and Quentin King were lively flankers with Piripi Douglas, an East Coast rep in 2006, being a regular substitute and match winner in the final. At Number eight Malakai Ravulo was the only squad member to start in all 13 games and was the outstanding forward.

During May two non-first-class games were played in Gisborne, a 27-27 draw with a Bay of Plenty XV and a 97-0 loss to a Hawke’s Bay XV.

2007 Results

20 Oct, 2:30 pm H South Canterbury Final Lochore Cup 38 - 35
13 Oct, 2:30 pm H Thames Valley S/F Lochore Cup 65 - 03
06 Oct, 2:30 pm A West Coast Lochore Cup 21 - 36
29 Sep, 2:30 pm H Thames Valley Lochore Cup 26 - 23
22 Sep, 2:30 pm H Horowhenua-Kapiti Lochore Cup 30 - 19
15 Sep, 2:30 pm A East Coast Heartland Championship 24 - 33
08 Sep, 2:30 pm H Buller Heartland Championship 13 - 15
01 Sep, 2:30 pm A Wanganui Heartland Championship 22 - 20
25 Aug, 2:30 pm H North Otago Heartland Championship 11 - 31
18 Aug, 2:30 pm A South Canterbury Heartland Championship 07 - 24
11 Aug, 2:30 pm H Wairarapa Bush Pre-Season 28 - 15
04 Aug, 2:30 pm A King Country Pre-Season 32 - 00
04 Jun, 2:30 pm H East Coast Pre-Season 56 - 00

2007 Players

  Name   Position Height Weight PL
Placeholder C.R.H.Bell Lock n/a n/a 12
Placeholder Sylvester.E.Blake Prop n/a n/a 2
Placeholder J.T.Brooking Center n/a n/a 9
Placeholder Russell Burns Hooker/Prop 177 110 1
Placeholder A.R.Cribb Hooker n/a n/a 12
Placeholder P.J.Douglas Flanker n/a n/a 11
Placeholder Tim Gardner Utility Back n/a n/a 10
Placeholder W.A.Hallgarth Lock n/a n/a 13
Placeholder Murray Hewson Lock 193 108 13
Placeholder Colin J.K. Hovell Prop n/a n/a 12
Placeholder Jamie.B.Hutana Prop n/a n/a 12
Placeholder Hone.T.O.Kaa Wing n/a n/a 10
Placeholder Q.D.King Flanker n/a n/a 13
Placeholder W.J.Knox Prop n/a n/a 2
Placeholder S.K.Leach Wing/Fullback n/a n/a 12
Placeholder Scott Leighton First Five n/a n/a 11
Placeholder I.G.Logan Center n/a n/a 12
Placeholder S.Manu Hoooker n/a n/a 1
Placeholder J.B.Maynard Hooker n/a n/a 10
Placeholder J.J.McClutchie Center n/a n/a 8
Placeholder D.W.Morath Halfback n/a n/a 8
Placeholder W.P. Mutu Ngarimu No. 8 n/a n/a 1
Placeholder Sione Ngatu Flanker/No.8, Prop 186 115 12
Placeholder Anaru Poihipi Prop n/a n/a 1
Placeholder R.M.Ravulo No.8/Flanker n/a n/a 13
Placeholder D.R.Rehu Flanker n/a n/a 9
Placeholder N.Sharkey Hooker n/a n/a 1
Placeholder P.Stevens Prop n/a n/a 2
Placeholder Kahu Tamatea First Five/Fullback n/a n/a 10
Placeholder Waiti Tamatea Center n/a n/a 0
Placeholder C.Te Rito Center n/a n/a 7
Placeholder Ratu.S.Vosaki Wing n/a n/a 5
Placeholder James Warren Center n/a n/a 11
Placeholder E.Wharerau Lock n/a n/a 1
Placeholder A.Wise Hooker n/a n/a 9
Placeholder Penalty Try 1

We hope you enjoy this look back as we look forward to many more years of recording the history of Poverty Bay Rugby Football Union.
We acknowledge all the information from the NZ “Rugby Almanack” Series from 1934 and appreciate their hard and dedicated work in providing this detailed history. – Web Admin