PBRFU Season – 2010

PBRFU Season – 2010

Back to Year by Year Index click here



2010 Status:
Founded 1890 – Affiliated 1893
Assistant Coach
Main ground:
Rugby Park, Gisborne
Scarlet – White

It was another successful season for Poverty Bay and it was again Wanganui that halted the march towards the Meads Cup final. A significant improvement was the scoring of 44 tries during the championship compared with 17 the previous year. Only the champions, North Otago, scored more. Yet Poverty Bay had four players selected to the Heartland team compared with three by North Otago which was boosted by several ineligible loan players. Poverty Bay brought in just one player for the championship,Whaimotu Craft-Chemis fromTaranaki, who had been playing in Gisborne in 2008.

The use of loan players and their impact on match results in the championship often distorts the strengths of club rugby in Heartland unions. Poverty Bay union could fairly claim to be the strongest Heartland union of 2010 on the basis that all its rivals contained imported players who contributed significantly to the scoreboard. That Poverty Bay can be so successful by using its own club players is a satisfying achievement the union can be proud of. Like many aspects in life success is measured by what you own, not what you have on loan.

The team strength was in the threequarters where Origin player Craft-Chemis, Tom Teaeki and John Stewart scored 24 tries between them. Their speed and the attacking flair of fullback Kahu Tamatea provided some spectacular rugby. Pomare Samupo was a sound ball distributor in midfield. After one game captain Scott Leighton became unavailable when he joined the Police Force. In his place Tim Gardner, who had last appeared in 2007, was a reliable substitute. Halfback was the only position which was unsettled, William Haenga, Mario Counsell and Daniel Harris sharing the position.

Karl Gemmell was a young newcomer whose efforts at number eight were rewarded with Heartland selection. Another young newcomer, Lennon Carrington, and the experienced Sione Ngatu were the flankers. This effective trio, along with the front row trio of Colin Hovell, Ngarimu Simpkins and Stanley Williams, started every championship game. Hovell was a late addition to the Heartland squad. Williams was another promising newcomer while the arrival of the experienced Simpkins from Bay of Plenty provided an inspiring captain. With a pair of experienced locks in Chris Bell and Murray Hewson the forward pack was a fine blend of youth and experience.

Higher honours went to:

New Zealand Heartland:       Gemmell, Hovell, Ngatu, Simpkins, Tamatea

2010 Results

23 Oct, 2:30 pm AWanganuiS/F Meads Cup31 - 24
16 Oct, 2:30 pm ASouth CanterburyHeartland Championship14 - 16
09 Oct, 2:30 pm HThames ValleyHeartland Championship45 - 18
02 Oct, 2:30 pm AWanganuiHeartland Championship50 - 34
25 Sep, 2:30 pm HBullerHeartland Championship21 - 13
18 Sep, 2:30 pm ANorth OtagoHeartland Championship40 - 08
11 Sep, 2:30 pm HWairarapa BushHeartland Championship62 - 06
04 Sep, 2:30 pm HEast CoastHeartland Championship71 - 03
28 Aug, 2:30 pm AMid CanterburyHeartland Championship20 - 25
05 Jun, 2:30 pm AEast CoastPre-Season03 - 24

2010 Players

 Name PositionHeightWeightPL
PlaceholderMario CounsellHalfback156807
PlaceholderHikanui CurtisPropn/an/a2
PlaceholderLloyd GabrielHookern/an/a8
PlaceholderTim GardnerUtility Backn/an/a10
PlaceholderKarl GemmellNo. 8n/an/a9
PlaceholderWillie HaengaHalfbackn/an/a5
PlaceholderDaniel HarrisHalfbackn/an/a8
PlaceholderMurray HewsonLock1931089
PlaceholderColin J.K. HovellPropn/an/a10
PlaceholderMangu KempFullback/Centern/an/a1
PlaceholderClayton KiwaraFirst Fiven/an/a7
PlaceholderScott LeightonFirst Fiven/an/a1
PlaceholderTevita MakaLoose Forwardn/an/a4
PlaceholderJ.NaoupuLoose Forwardn/an/a6
PlaceholderSione NgatuFlanker/No.8, Prop18611510
PlaceholderAnaru PoihipiPropn/an/a7
PlaceholderPomare SamupoCentern/an/a8
PlaceholderJohn StewartWingn/an/a10
PlaceholderKahu TamateaFirst Five/Fullbackn/an/a10
PlaceholderWilliam TamateaLoose Forward1961053
PlaceholderRicky WaitoaLockn/an/a3
PlaceholderWhaimotu Craft-ChemisCentern/an/a7

We hope you enjoy this look back as we look forward to many more years of recording the history of Poverty Bay Rugby Football Union.
We acknowledge all the information from the NZ “Rugby Almanack” Series from 1934 and appreciate their hard and dedicated work in providing this detailed history. – Web Admin

Close Menu