PBRFU Season – 2012

PBRFU Season – 2012

Back to Year by Year Index click here



2012 Status:
Founded 1890 – Affiliated 1893
P.F. Naden
M.A. MacLean
D. Wilcox
G.J. Heikell
Assistant Coach
T.D. Crosby
Main ground:
Rugby Park, Gisborne
Scarlet – White

Poverty Bay enjoyed good wins over teams below it on the ladder but struggled against the regular Meads Cup finalists. A lack of depth in local rugby, there being only five senior teams, forced the coach to recruit some talent from other unions and also from Gisborne Boys’ High School.

Loose forward Sione Ngatu was again outstanding and played his 100th game during the season. Murray Hewson was the team’s player of the year, an experienced player who locked the scrum with either Josese Bolabasaga or Jason Tuapawa. Hooker Henry Yortt, number eight Andrew Gardner, and halfback Adam Ross, all from Hawke’s Bay, were valuable acquisitions.

Gardner was the Origin player. Jone Lesi showed promise at prop, so too did schoolboy Toa Halafihi on the flank. 20-year-old Josh Hart was from England.

Scott Leighton was again captain: the 35-year-old has been a grand contributor to Poverty Bay rugby since 2004 when he was loaned from Wellington before deciding to live in Gisborne. Paula Tikomainaivalu was a strong runner at centre and at fullback Kelvin Smith continues to improve. Moss Doran had a good first season in midfield. Other backs to appear regularly were David Philander, Sione Tupa, Pamona Samupo, Nick Wilson and Brad Turei. Philander is a Namibian international who visited Gisborne during his team’s stay there during the RWC and chose to return. Wilson had represented Mid Canterbury in 2011.

Higher honours went to:

New Zealand Heartland:        S.Ngatu

2012 Results

20 Oct, 2:30 pm ABullerS/F Lochore Cup42 - 22
13 Oct, 2:30 pm HEast CoastHeartland Championship14 - 24
06 Oct, 2:30 pm AThames ValleyHeartland Championship29 - 56
29 Sep, 2:30 pm HSouth CanterburyHeartland Championship33 - 52
22 Sep, 2:30 pm ANorth OtagoHeartland Championship24 - 23
15 Sep, 2:30 pm HWest CoastHeartland Championship31 - 13
08 Sep, 2:30 pm AWanganuiHeartland Championship42 - 03
01 Sep, 2:30 pm HWairarapa BushHeartland Championship21 - 48
25 Aug, 2:30 pm AHorowhenua-KapitiHeartland Championship15 - 31
11 Aug, 2:30 pm AWairarapa BushPre-Season46 - 14
02 Jun, 2:30 pm AEast CoastPre-Season27 - 42

2012 Players

 Name PositionHeightWeightPL
PlaceholderJuston AllenLock/Flankern/an/a0
PlaceholderJosese BolabasagaLockn/an/a10
PlaceholderRichard BrownHalfbackn/an/a4
PlaceholderRussell BurnsHooker/Prop1771105
PlaceholderCampbell ChrispPropn/an/a8
PlaceholderHikanui CurtisPropn/an/a2
PlaceholderMoss DoranCenterN/AN/A10
PlaceholderAndrew GardnerNo. 8n/an/a9
PlaceholderS.Toa HalafihiLoose Forwardn/an/a4
PlaceholderJoshua HartFlankern/an/a6
PlaceholderMurray HewsonLock19310811
PlaceholderDrew HillPropn/an/a1
PlaceholderMangu KempFullback/Centern/an/a1
PlaceholderScott LeightonFirst Fiven/an/a11
PlaceholderJone LesiPropn/an/a11
PlaceholderJonte LexmondWingn/an/a2
PlaceholderTevita MakaLoose Forwardn/an/a9
PlaceholderAnthony Joshua McAtamneyCentern/an/a1
PlaceholderJed MillerHookern/an/a4
PlaceholderEfoti MoimoiFlankern/an/a2
PlaceholderSione NgatuFlanker/No.8, Prop18611510
PlaceholderBen PayneFlankern/an/a1
PlaceholderDavid PhilanderWing/Fullbackn/an/a8
PlaceholderJared ProffitPropn/an/a1
PlaceholderAdam RossHalfbackn/an/a6
PlaceholderPamona SamupoWingn/an/a9
PlaceholderJacob Te Ata SmithHalfbackn/an/a1
PlaceholderKelvin SmithFullback/Wingn/an/a10
PlaceholderWilliam TamateaLoose Forward1961051
PlaceholderPaulo TikomainaivaluCenter/Wingn/an/a10
PlaceholderJason TuapawaLockn/an/a11
PlaceholderJody TuhakaHooker/Propn/an/a1
PlaceholderSione TupaCentern/an/a11
PlaceholderBrad TureiFullbackn/an/a7
PlaceholderSimon VersteegPropn/an/a10
PlaceholderBeaudein WaakaFirst Fiven/an/a1
PlaceholderCaleb WestWingn/an/a2
PlaceholderDean WilliamsFirst Five, Halfbackn/an/a2
PlaceholderNicholas WilsonCentern/an/a10
PlaceholderHenry YorttHookern/an/a9

We hope you enjoy this look back as we look forward to many more years of recording the history of Poverty Bay Rugby Football Union.
We acknowledge all the information from the NZ “Rugby Almanack” Series from 1934 and appreciate their hard and dedicated work in providing this detailed history. – Web Admin

Close Menu