PBRFU Season – 2015

PBRFU Season – 2015

Back to Year by Year Index click here



2015 Status:
Founded 1890 – Affiliated 1893
P.S.(Phil) Wauchop
DR. (Derek) Dingle (to February)
G.C. (Grant) Allen
(March-May) (interim)
M.L. (Marty) Davis
(from June)
Assistant Coach
Main ground:
Rugby Park, Gisborne
Scarlet – White

In 2015 Poverty Bay went backwards in the Heartland Championship after last year’s second place in the round robin down to second last in 11th place. The win against East Coast in the competition opener proved to be the only win of the campaign, compared to five last year, but despite this the try scoring in the round robin slightly increased from 32 to 34. The (big) problem was defence, as tries conceded escalated from 18 to 45.

At fullback loan player Tamati Samuels played the first three championship games and scored a try in every one of them, but played no more due to injury. Carl Riini was an in-form winger and top try scorer with loaned centre Leigh Bristowe, who was a good finisher. On the left wing schoolboy Hunter Mokomoko made five appearances. Ethine Reeves made a mid-season return from Manawatu and gave some fine performances. First five-eighth Kahu Tamatea reappeared after five seasons. So too did the two halfbacks Willie Haenga and Mario Counsell, who shared the starts.

In the forwards the standout was debutant Tamanui Hill, who had returned from overseas. Playing mainly at number eight he was strong on defence and a good runner with the ball. The other two loosies – James Grogan and Corban Barbara – both had promising debuts as well. The captain Murray Hewson again led from the front while Jake Paringatai covered three positions. Apart from the Queen’s Birthday match, Sione Ngatu played the season at loosehead prop while Russell Burns was a physical tighthead prop. Jody Tuhaka was the starting hooker, and when he became unavailable Geoff Pari took over.

The record number of 47 players was used in the season’s first-class programme, with eight only appearing in the two pre-Heartland matches. Of the 39 who appeared in the Heartland Championship, 18 were in their first season. Lock Dan Goodwin, who played twice, had previously represented Bay of Plenty and Northland. Of last year’s regulars, missing were Brynn Uriarau (Bay of Plenty), Moss Doran (Thames Valley), Everard Reid (Hawke’s Bay), Seymour Lambert (Tasman), while Tau Moeke, Clayton Kiwara, Sam Parkes, and Donny Mill all turned out for East Coast.

Poverty Bay had their first All Black from the province since Ian Kirkpatrick and Laurie Knight in 1977 when Hika Elliot played against Samoa in July. He played one match for Poverty Bay last year, and at the time of All Blacks selection this year did not have a provincial contract with any union. Because his last registration was with this union, he is Poverty Bay’s seventh All Black. The Union celebrated its 125th Jubilee over Queen’s Birthday weekend.

Higher honours went to:

New Zealand Heartland: H.T.P. Elliot

2015 Results

10 Oct, 2:30 pm HSouth CanterburyHeartland Championship19 - 62
03 Oct, 2:30 pm AWanganuiHeartland Championship55 - 23
26 Sep, 2:30 pm HMid CanterburyHeartland Championship25 - 38
19 Sep, 2:30 pm ABullerHeartland Championship36 - 14
12 Sep, 2:30 pm HNorth OtagoHeartland Championship23 - 30
05 Sep, 2:30 pm AHorowhenua-KapitiHeartland Championship54 - 26
29 Aug, 2:30 pm HThames ValleyHeartland Championship37 - 43
22 Aug, 2:30 pm AEast CoastHeartland Championship15 - 60
15 Aug, 2:30 pm HWairarapa BushPre-Season17 - 53
30 May, 2:30 pm HEast CoastPre-Season26 - 20

2015 Players

 Name PositionHeightWeightPL
PlaceholderJoshua AfuWingn/an/a1
PlaceholderSemisi AkanaLockn/an/a2
PlaceholderSimone AkurangiLockn/an/a4
PlaceholderJoe AukusoPropn/an/a3
PlaceholderCorban BarbaraFlankern/an/a10
PlaceholderKerehama BarrettCentern/an/a4
PlaceholderLeigh BristoweCenter/Wingn/an/a8
PlaceholderNiko BrookingLockn/an/a2
PlaceholderRussell BurnsHooker/Prop1771108
PlaceholderCampbell ChrispPropn/an/a8
PlaceholderMario CounsellHalfback156809
PlaceholderAfa Fa'atauWingn/an/a3
PlaceholderTe Peehi FairlieWingn/an/a4
PlaceholderTravis GoochHalfbackn/an/a1
PlaceholderDan GoodwinLock1931052
PlaceholderJames GroganLoose Forward183988
PlaceholderWillie GroganHalfback181861
PlaceholderWillie HaengaHalfbackn/an/a7
PlaceholderMurray HewsonLock1931089
PlaceholderTamanui HillFlanker/No.8n/an/a9
PlaceholderKen HoukamauLoose Forward1871125
PlaceholderDoug KirkpatrickFlankern/an/a3
PlaceholderAidan MatengaFullbackn/an/a5
PlaceholderMatekairoa McGuireHookern/an/a1
PlaceholderScott McKinleyWing180902
PlaceholderMatthew MeadLockn/an/a2
PlaceholderSiosiua MoalaLoose Forward1881066
PlaceholderHunter MokomokoWingn/an/a5
PlaceholderSione NgatuFlanker/No.8, Prop1861158
PlaceholderGeoff PariHooker1801055
PlaceholderJake ParingataiLoose Forwardn/an/a9
PlaceholderEthine ReevesFullback160806
PlaceholderCarl RiiniBackn/an/a8
PlaceholderMatatua RuruWingn/an/a2
PlaceholderTamati SamuelsBackn/an/a3
PlaceholderShayde SkudderHookern/an/a7
PlaceholderKahu TamateaFirst Five/Fullbackn/an/a9
PlaceholderWilliam TamateaLoose Forward1961051
PlaceholderCanning TaumataWingn/an/a1
PlaceholderJody TuhakaHooker/Propn/an/a6
PlaceholderManase TupeWingn/an/a1
PlaceholderBrad TureiFullbackn/an/a1
PlaceholderIsaia Walker-LeawereLockn/an/a1
PlaceholderJames WarrenCentern/an/a1
PlaceholderBrian Whaitiri-WhiteFullbackn/an/a1
PlaceholderTyrone WhiteWing/Centern/an/a4

We hope you enjoy this look back as we look forward to many more years of recording the history of Poverty Bay Rugby Football Union.
We acknowledge all the information from the NZ “Rugby Almanack” Series from 1934 and appreciate their hard and dedicated work in providing this detailed history. – Web Admin

Close Menu