PBRFU Season – 2000

PBRFU Season – 2000

Back to Year by Year Index click here



2000 Status:
NPC Third Division
Founded 1890 – Affiliated 1893
not appointed
Main ground:
Rugby Park, Gisborne
Scarlet – White

Following a successful 1999 season, when they were beaten finalists, much was expected from Poverty Bay in 2000. Again they reached the semi-finals of the third division, and had the talent and ability to achieve more, but a lack of consistency in selection disrupted effective combinations being achieved. Including the early season non first-class games against East Coast, Bay of Plenty and King Country, a total of 48 players, wore the scarlet jersey. Changes in the appointment of captain, five in all, did not help to establish a regular team. Apart from Sam Howe, from Bay of Plenty, Poverty Bay relied on their own club players and there was doubt whether Howe was clearly a better first five-eighth than the best local players.

Only three players started every game – hooker Grant Allen, who captained the team in the semi-final, 2.02 metre lock James Robertson and experienced halfback Trevor Crosby. Though slightly built, Robertson showed much improvement as a mobile lineout forward. Fellow lock Jamie Hutana was perhaps the team’s best player over the season. Hutana had last appeared for the Bay in 1992 but had since represented Wanganui and Manawatu before returning to Gisborne. The loose forward trio was never a settled combination and Mana Pohatu, captain for the early games, lost his place later.

There was considerable talent among the outside backs with Mike Morrissey distributing some quality ball to Theo Jones, a deceptive runner, Willie Lardelli, Maurice Kerekere, and wingers Warren Banks and Ron Tamatea. Despite his 39 years, Tamatea remains a fit and versatile player and by playing alongside his 19-year-old son, Kahu, in three first-class matches completed a very rare event in New Zealand rugby. Just as unusually, they represented Poverty Bay together at the national sevens tournament. Willie Lardelli’s season was interrupted by injuries but he has the ability to break the defensive line and became the sole third division player to be selected in the Divisional Team. Sadly, Kerekere died in a car accident later in the year.

Higher honours went to:

New Zealand Divisional Team: Lardelli

2000 Results

14 Oct, 2:30 pm A North Otago S/F NPC 3rd Div 53 - 32
07 Oct, 2:30 pm A North Otago NPC 3rd Div 46 - 07
30 Sep, 2:30 pm A South Canterbury NPC 3rd Div 25 - 27
23 Sep, 2:30 pm H Horowhenua-Kapiti NPC 3rd Div 37 - 13
16 Sep, 2:30 pm H East Coast NPC 3rd Div 28 - 30
09 Sep, 2:30 pm H Buller NPC 3rd Div 35 - 03
02 Sep, 2:30 pm H West Coast NPC 3rd Div 60 - 13
26 Aug, 2:30 pm A Wairarapa Bush NPC 3rd Div 16 - 12
19 Aug, 2:30 pm A West Coast NPC 3rd Div 06 - 51
12 Aug, 2:30 pm A Thames Valley Pre-Season 37 - 14
05 Jun, 2:30 pm A Hawkes Bay Pre-Season 52 - 06

2000 Players

  Name   Position Height Weight PL
Placeholder Jamie.B.G.Allan Wing n/a n/a 9
Placeholder Grant.C.Allen Hooker n/a n/a 11
Placeholder Jason.R.Ashford No. 8 n/a n/a 8
Placeholder Warren.C.Banks Centre/Wing 9
Placeholder Carlos.J.S.Battes Hooker n/a n/a 8
Placeholder Maurice Broughton Prop n/a n/a 4
Placeholder Samuel.P.Cairns Prop n/a n/a 1
Placeholder Craig Clarke Hooker n/a n/a 1
Placeholder Trevor.D.Crosby Halfback n/a n/a 11
Placeholder Justin.A.Cullen Lock n/a n/a 1
Placeholder Kent Currie Wing n/a n/a 1
Placeholder Stuart Ensor Loose Forward n/a n/a 9
Placeholder Penitani Fotuaiki Prop n/a n/a 10
Placeholder Christian Fougere Flanker/Hooker n/a n/a 7
Placeholder Grainger Heikell Hooker/Prop n/a n/a 9
Placeholder Sam.E.Howe First Five n/a n/a 10
Placeholder Dennis.W.Hune First Five 1
Placeholder Jamie.B.Hutana Prop n/a n/a 10
Placeholder Brent Ingram Flanker n/a n/a 5
Placeholder Theo.T.Jones Wing n/a n/a 8
Placeholder Rangi Kamau Lock n/a n/a 1
Placeholder Maurice.M.Kerekere Center n/a n/a 10
Placeholder William.M.H.Lardelli Center n/a n/a 5
Placeholder T.Toka Liku Lock/Loose Forward n/a n/a 11
Placeholder Able Longrue Wing n/a n/a 1
Placeholder David.J.MacDonald Fullback/First Five n/a n/a 1
Placeholder John Martin Flanker n/a n/a 8
Placeholder James 'Misi' Maumau Wing n/a n/a 2
Placeholder Thomas.R.Miki Prop n/a n/a 7
Placeholder Jack.B.Moeke Center/Fullback n/a n/a 5
Placeholder Peta.K.Morgan Fullback/Wing n/a n/a 1
Placeholder Michael.J.Morrissey Center n/a n/a 10
Placeholder Mana.B.Pohatu Loose Forward n/a n/a 8
Placeholder James Robertson Flanker n/a n/a 11
Placeholder John Su Halfback 1
Placeholder Kahu Tamatea First Five/Fullback n/a n/a 7
Placeholder Ronald.S.Tamatea Center n/a n/a 5
Placeholder W.K.Willie Tiopira Flanker n/a n/a 1
Placeholder Malcom Westrupp First Five n/a n/a 3

We hope you enjoy this look back as we look forward to many more years of recording the history of Poverty Bay Rugby Football Union.
We acknowledge all the information from the NZ “Rugby Almanack” Series from 1934 and appreciate their hard and dedicated work in providing this detailed history. – Web Admin